How to Forget a Saved Wi-Fi Network on Windows 11

0
31

Sometimes, clearing or deleting Wi-Fi network settings to start fresh makes troubleshooting Wi-Fi connections easier in Windows 11. Occasionally, you may want to turn off your PC’s connection to a certain hotspot. Fortunately, “forgetting” a Wi-Fi network is as simple as a few clicks. Check out how to do it.

How to Forget a Saved Wi-Fi Network on Windows 11

How to Forget a Known Network in Quick Settings

When using the Quick Settings menu, it’s easy to overlook a nearby Wi-Fi network. In the far right corner of the taskbar, click the Quick Settings button. In addition to the Wi-Fi icon, there is a sound volume icon hidden above the Wi-Fi button.

You can click the sideways arrow inside the Wi-Fi control button when the Quick Settings menu appears. Click the pencil icon to add the Wi-Fi control button to the Quick Settings menu if you don’t see it.

Listed at the top of the Quick Settings menu will be the Wi-Fi access points available to you, including the one you’re currently connected to (if any).

If you want to reconnect to a Wi-Fi network in the future, know the network’s Wi-Fi password before forgetting it. If you forget the password, you will lose access to that network.

Select the Wi-Fi access point whose profile you would like to delete and right-click it. Click “Forget” in the small menu that appears.

Windows 11 will erase the Wi-Fi network settings stored for that access point by forgetting it. As a result, your PC will no longer attempt to connect automatically if it is the default Wi-Fi access point.

You can reconnect to the Wi-Fi network that you just forgot by clicking “Connect” next to its name in the list and entering its password.

How to Forget a Known Network in Settings

In Windows 11, the Settings app allows you to delete all saved Wi-Fi networks. With this feature, you can forget about Wi-Fi networks even when they are not in range.

Navigate to Network & Internet > Wi-Fi, then click “Manage Known Networks.” You’ll need to open Settings (press Windows+i), then navigate to “Manage Known Networks.”

Select the Wi-Fi network you wish to remove from the “Manage Known Networks” menu and click the “Forget” button next to it.

Also, Read | How to Clear Your Cache on Windows 11

You’ve now successfully removed the network from your computer. Close Settings, and you can continue using your PC normally. Best of luck!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here